more from
RSB Records
We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

The Time Thief

by Redtenbacher's Funkestra

Guilty 04:10 video
Funkie Moon 05:37


Stefan Redtenbacher remains the consummate bass master, not forgetting his sizable talents as a writer, producer and arranger. While his technique and taste are impeccable, it’s his mighty groove capabilities and strengths as a bandleader that really shine on the Funkestra’s latest album.

In fact, it’s these latter qualities that make The Time Thief a real joy to listen to, marking it out as a real ‘band’ record and not just a vehicle for some OTT bass chops.

Having ploughed themselves a deep funk furrow on 2015's Dr Hypenstein, the group have matured into a superslick funk machine that run riot with a whole world of syncopated grooves.

Be it the vintage horn-honking strut of opener ‘Guilty’ or the electro head charge of ‘Funkie Moon’ – this is fantastic wall-to-wall funk. Bottling some of their slamming live energy, The Time Thief bounces along with hip-shaking ease without losing sight of a good tune or a powerful groove.

While some funk bands labour under their influences, Redtenbacher’s Funkestra have used some deeply embedded ingredients to produce an album that’s dripping with slinky riffs and smooth new grooves.

(Nick Wells, editor iBass Magazine, UK)


released December 1, 2016


Stefan Redtenbacher - bass, additional guitars & keys
Mike Sturgis - drums
Eran Kendler - guitar
Rob Taggart - Fender Rhodes, Piano, Little Phatty
Dave Limina - Hammond B3, Little Phatty

Sid Gauld - trumpet solos (4, 5, 9, 11)
Simon Allen - additional baritone saxophone (3)
Karl Van Den Bossche - percussion (1, 2, 5, 10, 13)
Fergus Gerrand - percussion (3, 4, 6, 7, 11, 12)
Tony Remy - additional guitar (5)


The Hornheads

Michael B. Nelson - trombone & horn arrangements
Steve Strand - trumpet
Dave Jensen - trumpet
Kenny Holmen - tenor saxophone, flute
Kathy Jensen - baritone saxophone

except ‘Funkie Moon’ (2)

Paul Jordanous - trumpet
Karen Straw - trumpet
Nick Mills - trombone
Piers Green - tenor saxophone
Will Gibson - baritone saxophone


Pete Whitfield - violin & string arrangements
Paulette Bayley - violin
Sarah Brentwood-Spencer - violin
Simon Turner - cello
Nicholas Trygastad - cello

All tracks written by Stefan Redtenbacher. Published by Hypenstein Publishing (ASCAP). Administered by Wooden Hat Music (ASCAP). Except “Funkie Moon” written by Berfect, Davis, French, Johnson, Jones, & Rivers Courtesy of Tuff City Records / Swing Beat Songs (BMI). Administered by Wooden Hat Records (ASCAP). C & P Stefan Redtenbacher. All rights reserved.

Produced by Stefan Redtenbacher, except 'Walkin' Struttin' Strollin' - remix and additional production by Beat Fatique, all horn arrangements by Michael B. Nelson & Stefan Redtenbacher, except ‘The Funkie Moon’ - horn arrangement by Paul Jordanous & Stefan Redtenbacher, string arrangements by Pete Whitfield.

Recorded at Monnow Valley Studios, mixed and mastered by Rupert Christie, except 'Guilty' drums recorded by Sam Burden at Empire Studios, 'The Time Thief' drums, bass & guitar recorded by Sam Wilcox at Stakeout Studios, 'Funkie Moon' horn section recorded by Sam Wilcox at Stakeout Studios.

Artwork and design by Joshua Hibbert.
For licensing contact


all rights reserved



Redtenbacher's Funkestra London, UK

Austrian-bred bassist and funk fiend Stefan Redtenbacher is an anomaly, anachronism and a defiant demolisher of the pigeon- hole. Currently based in London, Stefan and his band Redtenbacher’s Funkestra deliver “out-and-out spectacular funk” (Snowboy) or, as UK Bass Guitar Magazine put it, “a near perfect slice of jazz-funk from one of Europe’s great players.” ... more


contact / help

Contact Redtenbacher's Funkestra

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

Redtenbacher's Funkestra recommends:

If you like Redtenbacher's Funkestra, you may also like: